M I N U T E S WILLIAMSBURG BOARD OF EDUCATION DECEMBER 12, 2018

The Williamsburg Board of Education met in regular session at 6:30 p.m. in the Williamsburg Jr. /Sr. High School Media Center on December 12, 2018. Members present were: Mark Armstrong, Brian Phillips, Kim Finn and Brooke Drahos. Tom Claypool was absent. The meeting was called to order by Vice-President Phillips.

During public comment, Rachel Klein, ELP teacher, and a group of ELP students gave a presentation on a bee hive project they are working on in class at Mary Welsh Elementary.

A motion was made by Armstrong, seconded by Drahos to approve the consent agenda as presented. Included in the consent agenda is the following: previous monthly minutes from the Board meetings on November 14, 2018 and November 20, 2018; monthly claims; financial reports; approved an open enrollment request for Carson Manan (1st) out of the Williamsburg District into the Iowa Valley District for the remainder of the 2018-2019 school year; approved open enrollment requests for Cohen Knapp (1st) and Acacia Knapp (6th) out of the Williamsburg District into the Belle Plaine District for the remainder of the 2018-2019 school year; and approved open enrollment requests for Lillian Schrock (10th) and Elizabeth Metz (1st) out of the Williamsburg District into the Clear Creek Amana District for the remainder of the 2018-2019 school year. The motion passed unanimously.

Kathy Hafner, a member of the lead learning team, discussed proficiency scales and why the District uses them. Ms. Hafner also discussed how those scales are used during professional development in conjunction with common formative assessments.

Dr. Garber received requests for early graduation from Matthew Cronquist, Korban Galyon, Grayson Maser, Avery Hopp, Chalsea Garretson and Ashlyn Munson. A motion was made by Finn, seconded by Drahos to approve early graduation for the students listed contingent upon their successful completion of classes. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Garber discussed adding violent event response coverage to the District's insurance policy, and recommended utilizing a \$1,000,000 coverage amount. A motion was made by Finn, seconded by Drahos to add \$1,000,000 in coverage to the District's policy for violent event response insurance. The motion passed unanimously.

Each year the Board has the option to consider the voluntary retirement policy #407.6. The current policy requires the employee to be 56 by June 30th, must be eligible and apply for IPERS benefits, must have completed 15 years of service in the Williamsburg District, is not on disability and has successfully fulfilled contractual obligations. The incentive offered was paid health insurance with premiums set at the dollar amount of the highest deductible single coverage of the early retirement year until the age of Medicare eligibility. The Board has the right to restrict the number of early retirement requests that it accepts each year. A motion was made by Drahos, seconded by Armstrong to leave the current policy as is, with the addition of a cash incentive of 50% of the employee's regular salary based on their step and lane location of the Salary Schedule A in the year they elect to retire, to be contributed as a non-elective contribution to a tax-sheltered annuity section 403(b) in two equal payments to be made on July 1, 2019 and July 1, 2020. The Board put a limit of five employees to accept for the health insurance and cash incentives for the Voluntary Retirement Program for 2018-2019. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Garber explained the District's At-Risk program and number of staff members involved in the program, along with the plan for 2019-2020. A motion was made by Armstrong, seconded by Finn to approve the request to the School Budget Review Committee (SBRC) for Modified Supplemental Amount and Supplemental Aid for the 2019-2020 Dropout Prevention Program in the amount of \$235,849, for expenditures necessary to implement the 2019-2020 At-Risk and Dropout Prevention Program plans, approved by the Williamsburg Community School District School Board. Roll call vote as follows: Mark Armstrong, yes; Kim Finn, yes; Brooke Drahos, yes; Brian Phillips, yes. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Armstrong, seconded by Finn to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m. The next regular Board meeting will be held on January 9, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Cynthia Gingerich, Board Secretary